Fire in the Mind: Science, Faith, and the Search for Order


Copyright 2010 by George Johnson

Preface: Kivas, Moradas, and the Secrets of the Nuclear Age

Part 1. Four Magic Mountains

1. Phaedrus's Ghosts

2. The Depth of the Atom

3. The Height of the Sky

Tesuque Interlude: The Riddle of the Camel

Part 2. "The Cold, Gray Cave of Abstraction"

4. The Demonology of Information

5. The Undetermined World

6. The Democracy of Measurement

San Ildefonso Interlude: The Mystery of Other Minds

Part 3. "A Fever of Matter"

7. The Dawn of Recognition

8. The Arrival of the Fittest

9. In Search of Complexity

10. In the Eye of the Beholder

Truchas Interlude: The Leap Into the Unknown

Conclusion: The Ruins of Los Alamos





George Johnson's Home Page